James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

13.0331.07.2022

James Barnor, Sick-Hagemeyer shop assistant with bottles, taken as a colour guide, Accra, 1971 © James Barnor/Autograph ABP, London

MASI Lugano presents the largest retrospective ever devoted to the photographer James Barnor (Accra, Ghana, 1929, lives and works in London). Throughout his lengthy career, spanning six decades and two continents, Barnor has been an extraordinary visual witness to the social and political changes of his time – from the independence of Ghana to the African diaspora and the lives of London’s African community. With his candid, spontaneous gaze, the Ghanaian-British photographer has navigated different places, cultures and genres, from photojournalism and social documentary to studio portraiture and fashion and lifestyle work. Although he has influenced generations of photographers in Africa and around the world, his work has only recently been rediscovered and valued.

“James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective” presents a selection of over 200 works from Barnor’s vast personal archive, including numerous previously unpublished images. Whether family photos, commissioned portraits or commercial assignments, Barnor’s exceptional ability to convey official and personal histories in the terms of an intimate dialogue, encounters based on a human connection, shines through.

In addition to vintage photographs, reprints and original documents, the show also presents magazine covers and record sleeves, and focuses in particular on the decades 1950-1980. It unfolds in the historic rooms of the Palazzo Reali as a chronological journey through the key periods in Barnor’s life and work - from the early days in Accra, with his "Ever Young" studio, to his years in London; from his first colour photographs to his collaboration with the anti-apartheid magazine "Drum" and his passion for music and the performing arts.

The exhibition also includes a video by Campbell Addy of Barnor introducing his work, and another in which he explains his photographic technique.

After being presented at the Serpentine Galleries in London (19.05-24.10.2021), and MASI Lugano, the show will travel to the Detroit Institute of Arts (Spring 2023), with the aim of raising the profile of a photographer whose work has had a major artistic and social impact.

Presented in collaboration with Serpentine, London. “James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective” is initiated and organised by Serpentine, London. Curated by Lizzie Carey-Thomas, Chief Curator, Serpentine and Awa Konaté: Culture Art Society (CAS), Assistant Curator.

Organised in collaboration with Clémentine de la Féronnière, Isabella Seniuta and Sophie Culière, James Barnor Archives

The catalogue

“James Barnor: Accra / London - A Retrospective” is accompanied by a catalogue published by König and co-produced by the Serpentine Galleries of London, MASI Lugano and Detroit Institute of Arts. Designed and illustrated by Mark El-khatib, it includes texts by Christine Barthe, Sir David Adjaye OBE, David Hartt, Alicia Knock and Erlin Ibreck, and a conversation between James Barnor and Hans Ulrich Obrist. The publication is in English.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

Video

Shop

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Poster F4

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Poster A3

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Catalogue

“James Barnor: Accra / London - A Retrospective” is accompanied by a catalogue published by König and co-produced by the Serpentine Galleries of London, MASI Lugano and Detroit Institute of Arts. Designed and illustrated by Mark El-khatib, it includes texts by Christine Barthe, Sir David Adjaye OBE, David Hartt, Alicia Knock and Erlin Ibreck, and a conversation between James Barnor and Hans Ulrich Obrist. The publication is in English.

Ed. Verlag der Buchhandlung König
ISBN: 9783960989752

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Postcards

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Magnets

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Notecard with envelope 16x16cm

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

13.0331.07.2022

James Barnor, Sick-Hagemeyer shop assistant with bottles, taken as a colour guide, Accra, 1971 © James Barnor/Autograph ABP, London

Le MASI Lugano présente la plus grande rétrospective jamais consacrée au photographe James Barnor (Accra, Ghana, 1929, vit et travaille à Londres). Au cours de sa longue carrière, qui s’étend sur six décennies et deux continents, Barnor a été l’extraordinaire témoin visuel des changements sociaux et politiques de son époque - de l’indépendance du Ghana à la diaspora africaine en passant par la vie de la communauté africaine de Londres des années 60. À travers un regard franc et spontané, le photographe anglo-ghanéen a toujours su évoluer avec aisance d’un lieu à l’autre, d’une culture à l’autre et d’un genre à l’autre - du photojournalisme au portrait en studio, de la photographie documentaire à celle liée au lifestyle et à la mode. Bien qu’il ait influencé des générations de photographes en Afrique et dans le monde entier, son travail n’a été redécouvert et apprécié que récemment.

"James Barnor : Accra/London - A Retrospective" présente une sélection de plus de 200 œuvres provenant des vastes archives personnelles de l’artiste, dont de nombreuses images inédites. Qu’il s’agisse de photos de famille, de portraits ou de commandes commerciales, Barnor a su rapporter l’histoire officielle comme les histoires personnelles à un dialogue intime, de rencontre et de relation humaine.

Outre des œuvres et des documents originaux ainsi que des réimpressions, l’exposition, qui se penche surtout sur les décennies 1950-1980, comprend également des couvertures de magazines et de disques. Le parcours d’exposition s’articule autour des principaux thèmes et moments clés de l’œuvre de Barnor - de ses débuts à Accra avec son studio "Ever Young" à ses années à Londres, de ses premières photographies à couleur à sa collaboration avec le magazine "Drum", rempart contre l’apartheid, en passant par sa passion pour la musique et les arts performatifs.

L’exposition est complétée par un document vidéo de Campbell Addy, dans lequel Barnor présente son travail, et un autre où il explique sa technique photographique.

Après l’étape au Serpentine, Londres (19.05 - 24.10.2021) et au MASI Lugano, l’exposition poursuivra au Detroit Institute of Arts en Amérique (Primetemps 2023) avec le but de diffuser l’impact artistique et social de James Barnor.

Présenté en collaboration avec Serpentine, Londres. "James Barnor : Accra/London – A Retrospective" est initiée et organisée par Serpentine, Londres. Le commissariat est assuré par Lizzie Carey-Thomas, conservatrice en chef, Serpentine et Awa Konaté : Culture Art Society (CAS), conservatrice adjoint.

Organisé en collaboration avec Clémentine de la Féronnière, Isabella Seniuta et Sophie Culière, James Barnor Archive.

Le catalogue

"James Barnor : Accra/Londres – A Retrospective" est accompagnée d’un catalogue publié par König et coproduit par les Serpentine Galleries de Londres, MASI Lugano et le Detroit Institute of Arts. Conçu et illustré par Mark El-khatib, il comprend des contributions de Christine Barthe, Sir David Adjaye OBE, David Hartt, Alicia Knock, Erlin Ibreck et une conversation entre James Barnor et Hans Ulrich Obrist. La publication est disponible en anglais.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma / Me / Ve: 11 – 17 heures
    Je: 11 – 20 heures
    Sa / Di / Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Lu: fermé

Video

Agenda

  • Sa 21.05
    11:00
  • Lieu d’exposition Palazzo Reali, visite guidée gratuite (en italien)
    James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Shop

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Affiche F4

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Affiche A3

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Catalogue

"James Barnor : Accra/London – A Retrospective" est accompagnée d'un catalogue publié par König et coproduit par les Serpentine Galleries de Londres, MASI Lugano et le Detroit Institute of Arts. Conçu et illustré par Mark El-khatib, il comprend des contributions de Christine Barthe, Sir David Adjaye OBE, David Hartt, Alicia Knock, Erlin Ibreck et une conversation entre James Barnor et Hans Ulrich Obrist. La publication est disponible en anglais.

Ed. Verlag der Buchhandlung König
ISBN: 9783960989752




James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Cartes postales

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Aimants

James Barnor: Accra/London – A Retrospective

Carte de notes avec enveloppe 16x16cm